Zombie Boy Is Kind of a Whore

     Those of you hip to tattoo couture probably have already heard of “Zombie Boy” (real name Rick Genest) who has tattooed over 80% of his body with really awesome anatomical tattoos.

Recently Rick has gained some level of fame and notoriety, recently modeling for fashion icon Mugler and even appearing in a Lady Gaga music video.

Now, when I call him a “whore” that’s really just my envy talking, if I could sell out and let my tattoos make money for me I can’t pretend that I wouldn’t fucking GO FOR IT.

Most recently Rick did an ad for Dermablend, a concealer make-up specifically designed for covering up tattoos (or whatever else you might have on your body), and out of that ad campaign came a pretty cool video: 

 

No doubt the video is a really cool example of what a team of dedicated make-up artists can do to make someone that’s dedicated their body to art look “normal”, but as a out-and-proud tattooed person it makes me concerned about the idea that tattoos are something to be covered up. Now, of course there’s a time and place for everything. I, for one, will do my best to cover my tattoos (including facial tattoos) when I have a job interview or go to court. Sometimes it’s easier to be realistic when it comes to achieving your goals with the understanding that yes, people judge you by how you look.

But that said how do y’all feel about an entire make up line dedicated to covering body art? If you have a lot of tattoos, is this a product you’d consider using? At what point do you decide it’s better to cover up who you are rather than be comfortable with the life and image you’ve chosen for yourself?

~ by K. Ritcheson on November 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
