Lust List: Black Milk

It’s easy for a company like Black Milk to make my Lust List. Black Milk is headed up by James Lillis, who one day decided to make fabulous stretchy awesome punked out leggings for the gals.

From the website:

My idea was fairly simple – I would teach myself to sew, buy some beautiful stretch fabrics, and make insane leggings. Then I would find girls who would get into them. Girls who wanted leggings that could pack a little more punch than the ones on offer at your average department store.

I made the leggings, found the girls, and so was born Black Milk.

Things were slow initially, but the girls who bought the leggings were always really positive, which was super-encouraging for me in the early days. The turning point came when I decided that I was going to figure out a way to wrap chains around a pair of leggings. It took me a week of drawing, sketching, scheming and failing before I finally figured out how to do it. I called them Cages, and they were a minor cult hit. From that time on, so many girls were ordering Black Milk gear that it became a full time job.

We’ve come a long way since those early days sewing leggings at midnight on the kitchen table. We’ve sold thousands of pairs of leggings all over the world. We’ve been featured in numerous magazines, newspapers and blogs from the local paper to Vogue. Best of all, Black Milk has now got score a reputation as one of the most exciting designer leggings labels in the world.”

Not only does Black Milk produce amazingly awesome designs (can anyone say “wet look” and “chains”? Holy crap!) but I’ve also heard nothing but raves about their fabulous customer service. Next paycheck that jacket is going from my Lust List to my closet.

~ by K. Ritcheson on May 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
