Fucking Awesome: Urban Decay Meets Religious Orthodoxy


Gary City, Indiana

A little background: I have a well documented love of photography, and urban decay. Despite my Jewish heritage, I also have a huge fascination with religion and religious iconography, especially that of the Christian variety. Maybe it has something to do with the taboo nature of the “other” religion I wasn’t allowed exposure to as a child, maybe it’s my history buff marveling at the way people have worshiped through the ages, and maybe it’s a more complex mix of those factors and more. What I do know is that pictures of abandoned religious sites take my breath away, make me want to take a road trip, and make me want to do completely inappropriate things all at the same time.

So this particular blog post manifested when I stumbled upon this guy’s livejournal. He has a series of really amazing pictures of abandoned Russian churches. Of course, all his captions are in Russian, which makes it a little hard for this blogger to get her nerd on, so I started researching other photography projects featuring abandoned churches.

Web Urbanist is actually one of my favorite sites for urban decay photography, and they have a very cool article featuring 7 stunning abandoned churches. My favorite one is in Gary City, Indiana. Is it wrong that I kind of want to move in?

Flickr also has a cool collection of photo sets of abandoned churches worth checking out if you’re into that sort of thing. Ok…now who wants to go on a road trip?

Somewhere in Russia

~ by K. Ritcheson on March 19, 2010.

One Response to “Fucking Awesome: Urban Decay Meets Religious Orthodoxy”

  1. I honestly found that really cool. not to mention I found your site so randomly! I’ll check back again peace

Leave a Reply

 
