Pretty Fucking Nifty: Reclaimed Artwork of Sayaka Kajita Ganz

I’m a huge fan of reclaimed art, as well as the exploration of new artistic mediums. So enter Sayaka Kajita Ganz, a Japanese born artist now residing in the US who makes some spectacular pieces out of found objects. From her website:

“My goal is for each object to transcend its origins by being integrated into an animal form that seems alive. This process of reclamation and regeneration is liberating to me as an artist.

By building these sculptures I try to understand the human relationships that surround me. It is a way for me to contemplate and remind myself that even if there is conflict right now, there is a way for all the pieces to fit together. That even if some people don’t feel at home here and now, there is a place where they belong and that they will eventually find it.”

Personally I’m digging on her Emergence Piece, which spent March 2009 on exhibit at the IPFW Visual Arts Gallery. Check out more of her awesome art on her website.

~ by K. Ritcheson on February 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
